A. Beck

A. Beck

Concept
 
My art is given meaning by a sense of enquiry, reinterpretation and transformation. It is not a question of reproducing reality as closely as possible in the time-honoured Baroque fashion. On the one hand there is painting for painting’s sake. As is the case, for example, in the “Baroque” cycle – acquiring an understanding of how to make the actual presence tangible. On the other hand I aim to transport the soul of the image to a contemporary position, so that it opens up to me.
 
One way is to approach it in a defiant, impudent and disquieting style. This often has a provocative effect, but makes the object accessible whilst leaving it unaffected. New creations and recreations are therefore presumptuous, since my art does not distance myself alone. Reality too seems to be abstracted because of this.
 
I see my art as a synthesis of new creation and conversion, absorb the different vibrations and condense them in my pictures to create a vision.
 
Each new work of art is a quotation and integrated in an artistic referential context. Quotations are defined by the difference to their origin, the original from which they are quoting. I work on the distinction between the original and the copy and make the artistic referential context visible, in order to make what distinguishes art more clearly understood – although not without initiating a transformation. The result is an innovative visual effect that fosters a reciprocal relationship between the image and the viewer. The examination of Baroque painting and its particular emotional content produce a tantalising contrast to my earlier works.
 
Although works from the cycle appear in part to be abstract at first glance, the titles of the pictures contain moments of irony, cynicism, lyricism, poetry and absurdity. They are intended to generate a slight confusion, and are a meta-construct against the initial, superficial glance. The titles aim to pull the viewer into the picture, make them laugh, wonder – and reflect.
 
CV
 

  • Andreas Beck
  • born 21.11.64
  • Stuttgart
  • Würzburg-Schweinfurt University of Applied Sciences
  • Design for Communication
  • Activities: art, graphics, online graphics, illustration, title animation, compositing for TV and cinema, crafts and much more

Exhibitions (selection):
 

  • 1993: Participation in the Frankfurt AV Festival “Diavisionen ’93”
  • 1994: St. Augustin Community Centre near Bonn
  • 1994: Würzburg University of Applied Sciences
  • 2001: Klinikum rechts der Isar, Munich
  • 2003/4: MLP, Graf von Maldeghem Palace, Munich
  • 2004: Fussberg Castle, Gauting, in cooperation with the Gauting Art Society
  • 11.2004- 4.2005: Deutsche Bank, Wettersteinplatz
  • 2007: Der stille Glanz der Dinge (The Silent Radiance of Things), Gauting Art Society in the town hall
  • 2008: Alles ist Eitel (Everything is in Vain), Werk 3 Studios, Kultfabrik Munich
  • 2010: Musterfrau und Männer (Jane and John Does), Munich

A selection of artworks by A. Beck can be found here >>
 
Contact:

A. Beck

A. Beck

Konzept
 
Der Bedeutung meines Kunstwollens ist das Hinterfragen und deren Neuinterpretation und Verwandlung. Es geht nicht darum , in guter Barock-Manier die Wirklichkeit möglichst naturgetreu nachzuformen. Zum einen ist da die Technik, das Malen um des Malens willen. So wie im Zyklus „Barock“ – das Verständnis zu erlangen, wie sich die aktuale Präsenz erfahrbar machen lässt. Zum anderen will ich die Seele des Bildes in eine zeitgenössische Position transportieren, damit sie sich mir erschließt.
 
Ein Mittel ist das Herangehen in einem trotzigen, frechen und unbequemen Duktus. Das wirkt oft provokant, erschließt aber das Objekt unbeeindruckt. Neu- und Umschöpfungen sind deshalb anmaßend, weil ich nicht alleine in meiner Kunst auf Distanz gehe. Auch die Wirklichkeit scheint hierdurch entrückt.
 
Ich verstehe meine Kunst als eine Synthese von Neuschöpfung und Verarbeitung, nehme die unterschiedlichen Vibartionen auf und verdichte sie in meinen Bildern zu einer Vision.
 
Jedes neue Kunstwerk ist ein Zitat und eingebunden in einen künstlerischen Verweisungszusammenhang. Zitate definieren sich über den Unterschied zu seinem Ursprung, dem Original, das sie zitieren. Ich bearbeite die Unterscheidung von Original und Kopie und mache den künstlerischen Verweisungszusammenhang sichtbar, um klarer fassbar zu machen, was Kunst auszeichnet – jedoch nicht ohne eine Transformation einzuführen. Dadurch entsteht eine innovative Bildwirkung, die ein wechselseitiges Verhältnis von Bild und Betrachter befördert. Die Auseinandersetzung mit der Barock-Malerei und ihrem besonderen Stimmungsgehalt ergeben einen spannungsvollen Kontrast zu meinen früheren Werken.
 
Obwohl Arbeiten aus dem Zyklus auf den ersten Blick zum Teil abstrakt anmuten, enthalten die Titel der Bilder Momente des Ironisch, Zynischen, Lyrischen, Poetischen und Absurden. Sie sollen eine leichte Verwirrung schaffen, sind ein Metakonstrukt gegen den ersten oberflächlichen Blick. Die Titel versuchen den Betrachter in das Bild hineinzuziehen, lassen sie lachen, sich wundern – und nachdenken.
 
Vita
 

  • Andreas Beck
  • *21.11.64
  • Stuttgart
  • Fachhochschule Würzburg- Schweinfurt
  • Kommunikations-Design
  • Tätigkeiten: Kunst, Grafik, Online-Grafik, Illustration, Titelanimation, Compositing für TV und Kinofilm, Handwerk und vieles mehr

Ausstellungen (Auszug):

  • 1993: Teilname am Frankfurter AV-Festival “Diavisonen ’93”
  • 1994: Gemeindezentrum St. Augustin bei Bonn
  • 1994: Fachhochschule Würzburg
  • 2001: Klinikum rechts der Isar, München
  • 2003/4: MLP, Graf von Maldeghem-Palais, München
  • 2004: Schloss Fussberg, Gauting, In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Kunstverein Gauting
  • 11.2004- 4.2005: Deutsche Bank, Wettersteinplatz
  • 2007: Der stille Glanz der Dinge, Kunstverein Gauting im Rathaus
  • 2008: Alles ist Eitel, Werk 3 Studios, Kultfabrik München
  • 2010: Musterfrau und Männer, München

Eine Auswahl an Kunstwerken von A. Beck finden Sie hier >>
 
Kontakt: