Brunnenskulptur “Bardo”

Brunnenskulptur “Bardo”

Bardo – a two-metre-tall metal sculpture made of corten steel and brass by Armin Brombacher
 
The first sculpture in the “Skulpturenpark Basel / Weil am Rhein” (Sculpture Park Basel / Weil am Rhein) is the fountain sculpture “Bardo” in the fountain in front of the hotel entrance. The sculpture consist of two steel steles that are mounted parallel in a distance of 25 cm.  On the front of the first stele, a head is mounted at a height of 1.7 m, while the back of the second stele features a pair of feet.  Between the two steles water fountains are bubbling.
 
Material
 
The steles are made of raw steel which corrodes through the weather and the fountain water. Over time, the colour will change from black over grey/black, black/brown to a bright rust-red. Head and feet of the sculpture are formed from patina brass. Here, the passing of time will also lead to a colour change from gold over honey-coloured to green/turquoise through natural corrosion.
 
Thoughts
 
In its shape the sculpture resembles a figurehead.  Its composition of two pieces that are linked by the water symbolises a transition: everything is changing, everything is “in flow”. This thought of change is reinforced by the natural corrosion that, over time, will leave its own marks on the sculpture.
 
Bardo shows the concepts of leaving on the one side and of arriving on the other side. And thus also the crossing of a boundary. There are clear boundaries, uncomfortable boundaries, invisible and flowing boundaries. Here, it is a flowing and invisible line that is crossed.
 
The sculpture beckons to stop, to walk around it and to alter one´s viewpoint and perspective – and maybe not only physically – as, depending on the viewpoint of the beholder, Bardo is obviously not showing everything. A lot cannot be seen directly.
 
Bardo is Tibetan and means “intermediate state”.

Brunnenskulptur “Bardo”

Brunnenskulptur “Bardo”

Bardo – eine zwei Meter hohe Metallskulptur aus Cortenstahl und Messing von Armin Brombacher
 
Die erste Skulptur im Skulpturenpark Basel / Weil am Rhein ist die Brunnenskulptur “Bardo” im Brunnen vor dem Hoteleingang. Die Skulptur besteht aus zwei parallelen, im Abstand von 25 cm aufgestellten Stahl-Stelen. Auf der Vorderseite der ersten Stele ragt in 1,70 m Höhe ein Kopf heraus, aus der Rückseite der zweiten Stele befindet sich ein Paar Füße. Im Raum zwischen den Stelen sprudeln Wasserfontänen.
 
Material
 
Die Stelen bestehen aus rohem Stahl, welcher durch Witterung und Brunnenwasser korrodiert. Im Laufe der Zeit werden sich dadurch Farbveränderungen von schwarz, grau-schwarz, schwarz-braun bis hin zu einem leuchtenden rostrot entwickeln. Kopf und Füße der Skulptur wurden aus patiniertem Messing geformt. Auch hier wird der Zahn der Zeit mit Hilfe natürlicher Korrosion Farbnuancen von Gold über honigfarben bis grün-türkis hervorbringen.
 
Gedanken
 
In ihrer Gestalt gleicht die Skulptur einer Gallionsfigur. Ihr zweiteiliger Aufbau, verbunden durch das Wasser, steht für einen Übergang; alles verändert sich, ist “im Fluss”. Unterstützt wird der Gedanke dieser Veränderung durch die natürlich Korrosion, die im Laufe der Zeit ihre ganz eigenen Spuren an der Skulptur hinterlassen wird.
 
Bardo zeigt das Verlassen der einen Seite und das Ankommen auf der anderen Seite. Und damit verbunden auch das Überqueren einer Grenze. Es gibt klare Grenzen, unbequeme, unbekannte, nicht sichtbare und fließende Grenzen. Hier ist es eine fließende unsichtbare Linie die überquert wird.
 
Die Skulptur fordert auf, stehen zu bleiben, um sie herum zu gehen, den Standpunkt und Blickwinkel zu ändern – und das vielleicht nicht nur physisch -, denn Bardo zeigt, je nach Standort des Betrachters, offensichtlich nicht alles. Vieles ist nicht direkt sichtbar.
 
Bardo ist tibetisch und bedeutet “Zwischenzustand”.