Christina Räber

Christina Räber

Christina Räber and how she became an artist:
 
A light pressure from my hands and the clay changed its form from a machine-moulded, pure and smooth square block into an indefinable something.
 
Back then on this evening in late summer 2006, I was not aware that this would be the beginning of a new life filled with creative enthusiasm and passion. I only tried to follow the instructions of the course instructor in the adult education seminar I was attending, in order to perform the task set to me on the subject of ArtSpace. To create. Art? Expression? To transfer internal energy into a work? These terms and concepts didn´t mean much to me as up to then I had never really been interested in the fine arts.
 
I chose the material clay simply because I found a pail of clay in the basement that must have remained from student´s work from primary school.
 
So, as I was sitting at the kitchen table, randomly squeezing the piece of clay in my hands, the thought of producing something “useless” seemed very foreign to me as I have always been a rather technical pragmatist. After some time, however, I could feel how my hands and the piece of clay were pushing away these rational thoughts and seemed to connect with my subconsciousness. I felt the consistency and the properties of the clay, its flexibility, how it changed from wet to moist, from gooey to smooth, from cool to lukewarm, smelt its elemental smell, I felt its plasticity in every single finger, the heel of my hands and both palms. I felt an energy that seemed to be flowing from the centre of my body right into the fingertips, and from that moment I no longer knew what was really happening. Amazed, I watched as my hands were squeezing and kneading, stroking and forming and – thus – were creating a human being that was suddenly sitting in front of me on the table. This human being was sitting there as if I had given birth to him. I touched and formed it again and the human being turned into a woman and, out of breath and amazed, I tried to let this woman express what I felt at that moment – passion, happiness and love. I had created a human being, my human being. From that moment, I knew that I was carrying an incredibly huge gift in me. And I hadn´t known it for such a long time.
 
This was the beginning of my artistry. That very night, I formed further fifteen human beings and filled my whole kitchen with them as I simply couldn´t stop.
 
Shortly afterwards, I joined a course in sculptural design under the direction of sculptor Al‘Leu in Zurich, in order to learn the fundamentals and the technical know-how of the art of sculpture. I was introduced to sculptural techniques like the modelling of clay and plaster, how to make plaster and concrete castings and how to sculpture with natural stone.
 
I learned the necessary techniques to create polyester sculptures in a company that works in polymer processing, and how to work and create art with wood in wood-carving courses.
 
Since 2011, I am working full-time as a sculptor/carver in my atelier in Hindelbank, Canton of Bern, Switzerland. The focus of my work lies on humans, their bodies, their body language and the strong relations to other humans, but also to animals. I work with mental images and do not use models.
 

  • Background: Born in 1954, trained as primary school teacher, worked in a primary school for many years, lives in Koppigen, Canton of Bern, Switzerland.
  • Exhibitions: Solo exhibition in the “Müllerhaus” in Lenzburg in 2012 and participation in the Arte Binningen 2012.
  • Award: Art criticism award for sculptures 2012, awarded by the Arte Binningen.

 
Contact:

Christina Räber

Christina Räber

Christina Räber und ihr Weg in die Kunst:
 
Ein Druck meiner Hände und der Ton verwandelte sich von einem maschinengeformten, jungfräulich glatten Quader in ein undefinierbares Etwas.
 
Dass dies der Anfang zu einem neuen Leben voller schöpferischer Begeisterung und Leidenschaft war, ahnte ich an diesem Abend im Frühsommer 2006 noch nicht. Ich versuchte nur, getreu den Vorgaben der Kursleiterin eines Weiterbildungsseminars, die an mich gestellte Aufgabe zum Thema KunstRaum zu erfüllen. Etwas gestalten. Kunst? Ausdruck? Innere Energie in einem Werk umsetzen? Mit diesen Begriffen konnte ich nicht viel anfangen, bis jetzt hatte mich die bildende Kunst kaum interessiert.
 
Ich entschied mich für das Material Ton, weil sich im Keller noch ein Hubel Ton finden liess, übriggeblieben von Schülerarbeiten auf Grundschulstufe.
 
Wie ich da so am Küchentisch sass und ziellos an dem Tonklumpen herumdrückte, war mir, einer handwerklichen Praktikerin, der Gedanke fremd, etwas „Unnützes“ zu produzieren. Nach einiger Zeit aber spürte ich, wie meine Hände und der Ton diese rationalen Gedanken verdrängten und sich stattdessen mit meinem Unterbewusstsein in Verbindung zu setzen schienen. Ich nahm die Beschaffenheit und die Eigenschaften des Tons wahr, seine Nachgiebigkeit, seinen Übergang von nass zu feucht, von klebrig zu glatt, von kühl zu handwarm, seinen elementaren Geruch, ich spürte seine Verformbarkeit mit jedem einzelnen Finger, mit den Handballen und beiden Handflächen. Ich empfand eine Energie, die aus der Mitte meines Körpers hin zu den Fingerspitzen floss und von diesem Moment an wusste ich nicht mehr, was wirklich geschah. Staunend beobachtete ich meine Hände, die drückten und kneteten, strichen und formten und so – einen Menschen erschufen, der nun vor mir auf dem Küchentisch sass. Wie wenn ich ihn geboren hätte, sass er da, dieser Mensch. Ich umfasste ihn wieder und aus dem Menschen wurde eine Frau und ich versuchte, atemlos und staunend, diese Frau ausdrücken zu lassen, was ich in diesem Moment empfand, Leidenschaft, Freude und Zuneigung. Ich hatte einen Menschen erschaffen, meinen Menschen. Von diesem Moment an wusste ich, dass ich ein unendlich grosses Geschenk in mir trug. Und ich hatte so lange nichts davon geahnt.
 
Das war der Anfang meines künstlerischen Schaffens. In der gleichen Nacht modellierte ich noch weitere fünfzehn Menschen, eine ganze Küche voll, ich konnte kaum noch aufhören.
 
Kurz darauf trat ich in den Fachkurs für plastisches Gestalten von Bildhauer Al‘Leu in Zürich ein, um die formalen Grundlagen und das technische Wissen für die Bildhauerei zu erlernen. Ich wurde in die plastischen und bildhauerischen Techniken wie Modellieren von Ton und Gips, Erstellen von Abgüssen in Gips und Beton sowie in das skulpturale Bearbeiten von Naturstein eingeführt.
 
In einer Firma für Kunststoffverarbeitung eignete ich mir das nötige Wissen an, um Polyesterplastiken herstellen zu können und in Holzbildhauerkursen lernte ich die Bearbeitung und Gestaltung von Holz.
 
Seit 2011 arbeite ich vollberuflich als Plastikerin/Bildhauerin in meinem Atelier in Hindelbank, Kanton Bern, Schweiz. Im Vordergrund meiner Arbeiten stehen der Mensch, sein Körper, seine Körpersprache und die intensive Beziehung zum anderen Menschen, aber auch zu Tieren. Ich arbeite nach inneren Bildern, ohne Modelle.
 

  • Vita: geboren 1954, Ausbildung zur Primarlehrerin, langjährige Tätigkeit an der Volksschule, Wohnort Koppigen, Kanton Bern, Schweiz
  • Ausstellungen: Einzelausstellung in Lenzburg im Müllerhaus 2012 und Teilnahme an der Arte Binningen 2012.
  • Preis: Kunstkritik-Preis für Skulpturen 2012, überreicht von der Arte Binningen

Kontakt: