Christine Battaglia-Zumstein

Christine Battaglia-Zumstein

“Shaku maku” is a slang term that is predominantly used today by Iraqis to mean “what’s up?”. The phrase originally comes from the Babylonian and is around 3000 years old. It is part of the name of her homepage and forms the basis of her artistic curiosity.
 
The Basel artist Christine Battaglia-Zumstein concerns herself with thoughts of becoming, blossoming and decline in her image cycle “it’s a flowersworld.” Each of these phases has something fascinating, unique and ultimately ephemeral about it. The cycle shows the artist’s personal response to events in the media and the world.
 
She says of herself: “Art is my way of philosophising without needing to philosophise in words. My painting is concerned with colours, shapes, materials, the seen, the experienced and inspiration. Art is a matter of the heart. If the heart is not in it, it becomes difficult to create art. After over 30 years of experimentation and implementing ideas, my search for the new is by no means over and is as exciting as it was on the very first day.” The artist is undertaking journey of discovery through her perception of “becoming, blossoming and decay”. Her pictures invite you, the viewer, along with her on this journey.
 
Two years ago she transferred her studio to the Kesselhaus Cultural Centre in Weil am Rhein, and now enjoys the transnational atmosphere of the border triangle as well as the possibility of exchanging ideas with the artistic community in the old silk factory.
 
Exhibitions
 
2011

  • October – November, Kulturkaffee Kesselhaus exhibition
  • 29 May to 3 July 2011 – ALL IN ONE – Galerie im Stapflehus, Weil am Rhein
  • 14 to 19 June 2011 – “caratart episode 1” art exhibition – carathotel Basel / Weil am Rhein
  • 13 May, studio night, Kesselhaus, Weil am Rhein
  • February – March 2011, “Absatz-Spitze” (Heel Tip), dock: Klybeckstrasse 29, CH-4057 Basel
  • 15 December 2010 – 31 March 2011, Basler Zeitung

2010

  • 6.12.2010 – Open Studios – Kesselhaus, Weil am Rhein
  • Grenzenlos 2010 (Unlimited 2010), Basel Herbstwarenmesse (Autumn Goods Fair)
  • Kunsthandwerkermarkt (Arts & Crafts Market) – Kesselhaus, Weil am Rhein
  • Künstler zeigen Künstler (Artists Display Artists) – Kesselhaus, Weil am Rhein
  • Brigitte Ditzler – Haute Couture – Spalenvorstadt
  • Studio Night 2010 – Kesselhaus Cultural Centre, Weil am Rhein
  • “Old News” – UBS Ausbildungszentrum Basel

2009

  • Grenzenlos 2009 (Unlimited 2009), Basel Herbstwarenmesse (Autumn Goods Fair)
  • Open Studio – Kesselhaus, Weil am Rhein
  • Josko fitness – Binzen Germany

pre-2009

  • Anders Vesterby anders wohnen (Anders Vesterby, a different way of living) – St. Alban Vorstadt Basel
  • Basel School of Arts and Crafts
  • Riehen district

A selection of artworks by Christine Battaglia-Zumstein can be found here >>
 
Contact

Christine Battaglia-Zumstein

Christine Battaglia-Zumstein

“Shaku maku” ist ein umgangssprachlicher Begriff der heute vorwiegend von Irakern verwendet wird für “what’s up”. Der Begriff stammt ursprünglich aus dem babylonischen und ist etwa 3000 Jahre alt. Dieser Leitspruch findet sich im Namen ihrer Homepage und bildet die Basis ihrer künstlerischen Neugier.
 
Die Baslerin Christine Battaglia-Zumstein befasst sich in ihrer Bilderreihe “it’s a flowersworld” mit dem Gedanken des Werdens, Blühens und Vergehens. Jede dieser Phasen hat etwas faszinierendes, einmaliges und letztlich nichts bleibendes. Es ist ihre eigene Art mit den medialen Geschehnissen und Weltereignissen umzugehen.
 
Sie sagt von sich: “Kunst ist meine Art zu Philosophieren ohne wörtlich philosophieren zu müssen. Meine Malerei befasst sich mit Farben, Formen, Materialien, Gesehenem, Erlebtem und Inspiration. Kunst ist eine Sache des Herzens. Wenn das Herz nicht dabei ist, wird es schwierig Kunst zu gestalten. Nach mehr als 30 Jahren experimentieren und Ideen umsetzen ist die Suche nach Neuem noch lange nicht vorbei und so spannend wie am ersten Tag.” Sie ist auf eine Entdeckungsreise durch ihre Wahrnehmung von “werden, blühen und verwesen” aufgebrochen. Mit ihren Bildern laden Sie die Betrachter mit auf ihre Reise ein.
 
Ihr Atelier hat Sie vor zwei Jahren in das Kulturzentrum Kesselhaus in Weil am Rhein verlegt und geniesst den grenzüberschreitenden Geist des Dreiländerecks sowie den Austausch mit der Künstlergemeinschaft in der alten Seidenfabrik.
 
Ausstellungen
 
2011

  • Oktober – November Ausstellung Kulturkaffee Kesselhaus
  • 29. Mai bis 3. Juli 2011 – ALL IN ONE – Galerie im Stapflehus Weil am Rhein
  • 14. bis 19. Juni 2011- Kunstausstellung “caratart episode 1” – carathotel Basel / Weil am Rhein
  • 13. Mai Ateliernacht Kessselhaus Weil am Rhein
  • Februar – März 2011, „ Absatz-Spitze“, dock: Klybeckstrasse 29, 4057 Basel
  • 15. Dezember 2010 – 31. März 2011 Basler Zeitung

2010

  • 6.12.2010 – Offene Ateliers – Kesselhaus Weil am Rhein
  • Grenzenlos 2010, Basler Herbstwarenmesse
  • Kunsthandwerkermarkt – Kesselhaus Weil am Rhein
  • Künstler zeigen Künstler – Kesselhaus Weil am Rhei
  • Brigitte Ditzler – Haute Couture – Spalenvorstadt
  • Ateliernacht 2010 – Kulturzentrum Kesselhaus, Weil am Rhein
  • “Old News” – UBS Ausbildungszentrum Basel

2009

  • Grenzenlos 2009, Basler Herbstwarenmesse
  • offene Atelier – Kesselhaus Weil am Rhein
  • Josko fitness – Binzen Germany

vor 2009

  • Anders Vesterby anders wohnen – St. Alban Vorstadt Basel
  • Kunstgewerbeschule Basel
  • Gemeinde Riehen

Eine Auswahl an Kunstwerken von Christine Battaglia-Zumstein finden Sie hier >>
 
Kontakt