Hendoc

Hendoc

Hendoc, who was born Hendrik Docken in 1967, is a very special wood carver. At 14 years of age he felled his first tree with a chainsaw, destroying his neighbour’s Mercedes in the process. What for others might have been reason to find a new hobby was for him a motive to really let rip. Of one thing he was absolutely certain: he could do better. And he really could do it.
 
In 1985 he discovered that the chainsaw could be used for creative purposes. After completing his secondary education and compulsory civilian service, he attended carpentry school. In 1991 he commenced his studies at the Offenbach Academy of Art and Design. He honed his world view on a multitude of journeys around the world, through numerous countries and over several seas.
 
In 1997 his son, Nick, was born. In this year too, the ei-che.de project came into being. Three years later the first “Schnitzing”, 3D graffiti in wood, appeared in the Palm Garden in Frankfurt am Main. In 2003 he was awarded a degree by the Offenbach Academy of Art and Design, and in 2004 the German Innovation Award for Crime Prevention.
 
His projects

  • ei-che.de: the German word “Eiche” means oak, and this project sees archetypal seating produced from this solid wood. Nature in wondrous form, elegant and for eternity.
  • schnitzing.de: With the Schnitzing project, Hendoc combines wood cutting with the graffiti culture, thus creating 3D graffiti for the first time. Moreover, with the graffiti cube, he has created a project that offers young artists a legal and endless space in which to unleash their creativity.

Olaf Velte from the Frankfurter Rundschau newspaper has also written an interesting profile of his work. Read more here (in German): “Kunst mit Kopf und Kettensäge” (Art with the head and a chainsaw)
 
A selection of works by Hendrik Docken aka Hendoc can be found here >>
 
Contact:

Hendoc

Hendoc

Hendoc, geboren 1967 unter dem Namen Hendrik Docken, ist ein ganz besonderer Holzbildhauer. Mit 14 Jahren fällte er seinen ersten Baum mit der Kettensäge und zerlegte dabei den Mercedes des Nachbarn. Was für andere ein Grund gewesen wäre, sich ein neues Hobby zu suchen, war für ihn der Grund erst richtig loszulegen. Denn er war sich sicher: Das kann er besser. Und das kann er wirklich.
 
1985 entdeckte er den Einsatz der Kettensäge zu kreativen Zwecken für sich. Nach Abitur und Zivildienst ging es dann auf die Schreinerschule zur Lehre. 1991 nahm er sein Studium an der Hochschule für Gestaltung in Offenbach auf. Seinen Weitblick schärfte er auf zahlreichen Reisen rund um die Welt, durch zahlreiche Länder und über einige Meere.
 
1997 kommt sein Sohn Nick auf die Welt. In diesem Jahr entsteht auch das Projekt ei-che.de. 3 Jahre später entsteht das erste Schnitzing, 3D Graffiti in Holz, im Palmengarten in Frankfurt am Main. 2003 erhält er das Diplom der HfG Offenbach und 2004 den Deutschen Förderpreis für Kriminalprävention.
 
Seine Projekte

  • ei-che.de: Aus massivem Holz entsteht hier der Archetyp der Sitzkultur. Natur in wunderschöner Form, elegant und für die Ewigkeit.
  • schnitzing.de: Mit Schnitzing verbindet Hendoc die Holzbildhauerei mit den Inhalten der Graffiti-Kultur und schafft so erstmals Graffiti in 3D. Mit dem Graffiti-Würfel hat er zudem ein Projekt geschaffen, bei dem jugendliche Sprayer eine legale und unendliche Fläche für ihre Kreativität vorfinden.

Ein schönes Proträt über seine Arbeit hat auch Olaf Velte von der Frankfurter Rundschau verfasst. Zum Nachlesen: “Kunst mit Kopf und Kettensäge”
 
Eine Auswahl an Arbeiten von Hendrik Docken aka Hendoc finden Sie hier >>
 
Kontakt: