Mike Prinz

Mike Prinz

Whilst for a long time, forests and water presented themselves as inexhaustible motifs in the “Seewälder” (Waterforests) series, in the present phase figures have once again become the central motif. Over and above this, in addition to the still important trees and branches, increasingly surreal-seeming forms or birds and flowers populate the canvas. All of these elements take the viewer with them on a journey into the romantically melancholic and even bizarre-seeming scenery.
 
The flora that crops up repeatedly in the process is sometimes portrayed in concrete fashion, whilst at other times, tender sprouting buds only hint at the development of, for example, a flower, with the faded, past depiction having no less appeal.
 
The modus operandum can be divided into two phases: In the first, emotional and wild phase, the foundation and parts of the motif are created more or less spontaneously – with the goal of allowing momentary moods and feelings to flow into the picture. This is followed by an extremely precise, almost painstaking “working phase” in which the motifs and certain details are fleshed out. The result is a harmonious interplay on several levels that provides the viewer with new interpretations time and again depending on their perspective. Despite the fact that patterns are often the foundations of inspiration, the images are created spontaneously “with the pencil in the hand” (Mike Prinz), in other words during the work.
 
In his works Mike Prinz places figures precisely alongside and over one another in the same way as with collage, so that scenes that initially stand alone begin to interact. Visual worlds are produced in which figures seem to act and a multitude of references opens up. Whilst the approach in the different creative phases may differ widely – they all have the integration of emotions in common.
 
Mike Prinz, who was born in Memmingen, lives and works in Munich.
 
CV
 

  • 2001 onwards: Consolidation during studies in the “Atelierhäusl” in Munich under Silvia Götz and Gershom von Schwarze
  • 2004: “Erster Akt” (First Act) exhibition
  • 2005 onwards: Stay in the south of France / Côte d’Azur
  • 2007 onwards: Studio in Haidhausen, Munich
  • 2007 onwards: The “Seewälder” (Waterforests) series
  • 2008: “Alles ist eitel” (Everything is in Vain) exhibition
  • 2009: Publication of the book “Seewälder – Faszination Wasser & Wald” (Waterforests – A fascination for water and wood)
  • 2010: Figurative work
  • 2011: “Blüten der Erwartung” (Flowers of Expectation) exhibition, Gauting Art Society

A selection of artworks by Mike Prinz can be found here >>
 
Contact
 

  • Mike Prinz
  • Partenhauserweg 5
  • 81369 Munich, Germany
  • Telephone: 0049 179 1219276
  • Studio: Kirchenstraße 46, Munich, Germany

Mike Prinz

Mike Prinz

Haben sich für lange Zeit der Wald und das Wasser in der Serie der „Seewälder“ als unerschöpfliche Motive angeboten, werden in der gegenwärtigen Phase wieder Figuren zum zentralen Motiv. Darüber hinaus bevölkern neben den immer noch wichtigen Bäumen und Ästen nun vermehrt surreal wirkende Formen oder Vögel sowie Blüten die Leinwand. All diese Elemente nehmen den Betrachter mit auf eine Reise in die romantisch-melancholische bis hin zu skurril wirkende Szenerie.
 
Die dabei immer wieder auftauchende Flora wird einmal ganz konkret dargestellt, ein anderes Mal lassen zart sprießende Knospen die Entwicklung z.B. einer Blüte nur erahnen, wobei die verblühte, vergangene Darstellung nicht weniger Reiz hat.
 
Die Arbeitsweise lässt sich in zwei Phasen gliedern: In einer ersten, emotionalen und wilden Phase entstehen die Grundierung und Teile des Motivs mehr oder weniger spontan – mit dem Ziel, momentane Stimmungen und Gefühle in die Bilder einfließen zu lassen. Darauf folgt eine sehr präzise, geradezu akribische „Arbeitsphase“, in der die Motive und bestimmte Details ausgearbeitet werden. Das Ergebnis ist ein harmonisches Zusammenspiel mehrerer Ebenen, das dem Betrachter je nach Blickwinkel immer wieder neue Interpretationen ermöglicht. Trotzdem oft Vorlagen Grundlagen der Inspiration sind, entstehen die Bilder spontan „mit dem Stift in der Hand“ (Mike Prinz), also während der Arbeit.
 
Mike Prinz setzt in seinen Arbeiten Figuren präzise collagenartig neben- und übereinander, sodass die ursprünglich für sich stehenden Szenen in Interaktion treten. Es entstehen Bildwelten, in denen die Figuren zu agieren scheinen und sich eine Vielzahl von Bezügen eröffnet. So unterschiedlich die Herangehensweise in den verschiedenen Schaffensphasen auch sein mag – allen gemeinsam ist das Einbinden von Emotionen.
 
Mike Prinz, geboren in Memmingen, lebt und arbeitet in München.
 
Vita
 

  • 2001ff: Vertiefung beim Studium im „Atelierhäusl“ in München bei Silvia Götz und Gershom von Schwarze
  • 2004: Ausstellung “Erster Akt”
  • 2005f: Aufenthalt in Südfrankreich / Côte d’Azur
  • 2007ff: Atelier in Haidhausen / München
  • 2007f: Serie der “Seewälder”
  • 2008: Ausstellung “Alles ist eitel”
  • 2009: Veröffentlichung des Buches “Seewälder – Faszination Wasser & Wald”
  • 2010: Figürliches
  • 2011: Ausstellung „Blüten der Erwartung“ Kunstverein Gauting

Eine Auswahl an Kunstwerken von Mike Prinz finden Sie hier >>
 
Kontakt
 

  • Mike Prinz
  • Partenhauserweg 5
  • 81369 München
  • Telefon 0049 179 1219276
  • Atelier: Kirchenstraße 46, München