Stefan Stichler

Stefan Stichler

“I’m a street walking cheetah with a heart full of napalm.” Iggy Pop & the Stooges
 
STEFAN STICHLER (*1972)
 
This Frankfurt native is a true child of the generation of ‘68. His father, a theologist, and mother, an artist, gave him the kind of childhood that pointed him towards cultural and political decentralisation, environmental awareness and creative self-fulfilment.
 
In the 1980s this quiet boy with a skateboard began to looking at Frankfurt’s bleak street life and soon found what he was looking for. He became a connoisseur of all the highs and lows of the big city and found enjoyment in the creative force of the underground. The riotous sound of punk rock and the subversive motifs of the tattoo and graffiti artists exerted a magical draw upon him.
 
His sporting talent gave him a place as a leading light of the hip Frankfurt skateboarders. Sponsored by the major protagonists on the scene, the curious preacher’s son used their patronage to delve beneath the surface of Frankfurt’s communities. Behind supposedly safe worlds and in the shadows of the banks’ skyscrapers.
 
Progressively his sensitive reasoning and creativity dictated to him the artistic development of the impressions gained there. Stefan Stichler learned carpentry, made music and began to paint in earnest. The terms “street art” or “lowbrow art movement” had not yet been popularised in Germany, when, by virtue of his skill, he began to no longer limit his very personal, expressionistic images to established formats. He produced his own backgrounds and painted on driftwood, masonry boards and offcuts, in entire rooms, and on his own furniture and sculptures. In this way, not only the motifs, but also the canvases are 1:1 copies of his world of emotions and ideas, which would not allow itself to be restricted. Neither by the limits of propriety, nor the norms of society and especially not by the edges of a piece of paper or a canvas.
 
Stefan Stichler lives and works in Frankfurt am Main with his girlfriend and two children.
 
Profile by: André Urban, 2010
 
A selection of artworks by Stefan Stichler can be found here >>
 
Contact:
 

  • dasEINS
  • kunstatelier  stichler
  • malerei+möbelskulpturen
  • Wächtersbacherstr. 84, 60386 Frankfurt/Main
  • Mobile: 0049 174 1512544
  • Telephone: 0049 69 80088989
  • Email: info@dasEINS.de
  • Web: www.dasEINS.de

Stefan Stichler

Stefan Stichler

“I’m a street walking cheetah with a heart full of napalm.” Iggy Pop & the Stooges
 
STEFAN STICHLER (*1972)
 
Der gebürtige Frankfurter ist das Kind echter 68er. Vater Theologe und Mutter Künstlerin, gestalten ihm eine Kindheit die ihn zu kultureller und politischer Dezentralisierung, Umweltbewusstsein und kreativer Selbstentfaltung führen.
 
Der stille Junge mit dem Skateboard beginnt in Frankfurts rauem Strassenleben der achtziger Jahre zu suchen und wird schnell fündig. Er wird zum Kenner aller Höhen und Tiefen der Großstadt und findet Gefallen an der kreativen Kraft des Undergrounds. Der aufrührerische Sound des Punkrock, die subversiven Motive der Tätowierer und Sprayer ziehen ihn magisch an.
 
Sein sportliches Talent verschafft ihm einen Platz im Führungszirkel der angesagten Frankfurter Skateboarder. Protegiert von den Protagonisten der Szene nutzt der neugierige Pfarrerssohn die Gunst Backstage gehen zu dürfen, in die Abgründe Frankfurter Gesellschaften. Hinter vermeintlich heile Welten und in die Schatten der Bankentürme.
 
Zunehmend diktiert ihm sein sensibles Denken und seine Kreativität das künstlerische Abarbeiten der dort gewonnen Eindrücke. Stefan Stichler lernt die Schreinerei, macht Musik und beginnt ernsthaft zu malen. Die Begriffe “Streetart” oder “Lowbrow Art Movement” haben in Deutschland noch keinerlei Popularität, als er Kraft seines Handwerks beginnt, seine sehr persönlichen, expressionistischen Bilder nicht mehr auf gängige Formate zu begrenzen. Er erschafft sich seine eigenen Untergründe und malt auf Treibholz, Maurerdielen und Sägereste, in ganze Räume, auf selbst gefertigte Möbel und Skulpturen. So sind nicht nur die Motive, sondern auch die Leinwände 1:1 Abschriften seiner Gefühls- und Gedankenwelt, die sich nicht einengen lässt. Weder von Grenzen des Anstands, den Maßstäben der Gesellschaft und schon gar nicht von den Kanten eines Papiers oder einer Leinwand.
 
Stefan Stichler lebt und arbeitet mit seiner Freundin und zwei Kindern in Frankfurt am Main.
 
Porträt von: André Urban, 2010
 
Eine Auswahl an Kunstwerken von Stefan Stichler finden Sie hier >>
 
Kontakt:
 

  • dasEINS
  • kunstatelier  stichler
  • malerei+möbelskulpturen
  • Wächtersbacherstr. 84, 60386 Frankfurt/Main
  • Mobil: 0049 174 1512544
  • Telefon: 0049 69 80088989
  • Email: info@dasEINS.de
  • Web: www.dasEINS.de