Tanja Maria Ernst

Tanja Maria Ernst

Tanja Maria Ernst was born in Stuttgart in 1971, and after her years spent as an apprentice goldsmith and wandering journeyman, she returned to her home city in 1997 to begin her studies at the Stuttgart Academy of Art and Design under Jürgen Rose. Her early years there were difficult, as her interdisciplinary interests meant that she almost left the university, and she eventually switched to the ranks of the students of design for communication. She studied under Manfred Kröplein, Martin Woodtli and Uli Cluss, but never gave up her frequent visits to the establishment’s painting classes. Her graduation project was the first installation ever to be accepted for a degree in the field of Design for Communication.
 
After her studies, she began to devote herself exclusively to painting and, since 2008, has been represented by the Galerie Amrei Heyne in Stuttgart.
 
In addition to her regular solo exhibitions at home, she has also participated in exhibition projects in Switzerland, the United States and South Africa. As the great niece of the surrealist Dada artist Max Ernst, in 2010 she was invited to an SWR (Southwest Broadcasting) production in Baden Baden with Wieland Backes. In 2007 she received her first art award. In 2011 an initial work was acquired by the state of Baden-Württemberg for its public collection.
 
In her paintings she attempts to trace the desires of her time and has developed an enormous sensitivity for the topics that move German society and that will shape it in the coming years. Subjects such as homeland and religion were tackled in her work as early as 2002, whilst she was still a student, and long before programme formats from broadcaster Sat 1 such as “Stadt-Land-Lust” were developed, or glossy magazines dealing with the subject of “homeland” had made their way onto the market.
 
Which direction her work will take in the coming years remains to be seen. Tanja M Ernst always tries to keep her finger on the pulse. Subjects such as nature, romance and escapism are sure to continue to play an important role in the self-image of Germans in the near future, in the same way as the textual development of projects in the work of Tanja Maria Ernst.
 
Alongside her own work, the life and work of Max Ernst is of great importance to her. For many years she has participated in exchanges of knowledge with art historians and personal friends of Max Ernst.
 
A selection of artworks by Tnaja Ernst can be found here >>
 
Contact:

Tanja Maria Ernst

Tanja Maria Ernst

Tanja Maria Ernst wurde 1971 in Stuttgart geboren und kehrte nach Ausbildungs- und Wanderjahren als Goldschmiedin in ihre Heimatstadt zurück, um 1997 an der Stuttgarter Akademie der Bildenden Künste ihr Studium bei Jürgen Rose zu beginnen. Ihre Einstandsjahre waren schwierig, durch ihre fächerübergreifenden Interessen wurde sie beinahe exmatrikuliert und wechselte schließlich zu den Kommunikationsdesignern. Sie studierte bei Manfred Kröplien, Martin Woodtli und Uli Cluss, gab aber ihre häufgen Besuche in den Malklassen des Hauses nie auf. Ihre Abschlussarbeit war die erste Installation, die im Bereich Kommunikationsdesign als Diplom anerkannt wurde.
 
Nach dem Studium begann sie, sich ausschließlich der Malerei zu widmen und wird seit 2008 von der Galerie Amrei Heyne in Stuttgart vertreten.
 
Neben ihren regelmäßigen Einzelausstellungen im Inland hat sie sich an Ausstellungsprojekten in der Schweiz, in den USA und Südafrika beteiligt. Als Großnichte des surrealistischen Dada-Künstlers Max Ernst wurde sie 2010 zu einer SWR- Produktion mit Wieland Backes nach Baden- Baden eingeladen. 2007 erhielt sie ihren ersten Kunstpreis. 2011 wurde eine erste Arbeit vom Land Baden- Württemberg für die öffentliche Sammlung erworben.
 
In ihren Gemälden versucht sie den Bedürfnissen ihrer Zeit nachzuspüren und hat ein enormes Feingefühl entwickelt für die Themen, die die deutsche Gesellschaft bewegen und in den nächsten Jahre bewegen werden. Themen wie Heimat und Religion griff sie in ihrer Arbeit schon 2002, noch während ihres Studiums auf, lange bevor Sendeformate von Sat 1 wie Stadt-Land-Lust erfunden wurden, oder Hochglanzmagazine mit dem Thema Heimat auf den Markt gefunden hatten.
 
Wohin sich die Arbeit in den nächsten Jahren bewegen wird, bleibt abzuwarten. Tanja M Ernst versucht stets am Puls der Zeit zu bleiben. Themen wie Natur, Romantik und Eskapismus werden im Selbstverständnis der Deutschen in den nächsten Jahren sicher noch eine wichtige Rolle spielen, genauso wie die textliche Entwicklung von Projekten in der Arbeit von Tanja Maria Ernst.
 
Neben ihrer eigenen Arbeit ist das Leben und Werk von Max Ernst für sie von großer Bedeutung. Sie steht seit Jahren im Austausch mit Kunsthistorikern und persönlichen Freunden von Max Ernst.
 
Eine Auswahl an Kunstwerken von Tanja Ernst finden Sie hier >>
 
Kontakt: